Here’s What You Should Read if you Liked Harry Potter

feature image for 20 books for kids who loved Harry Potter. Magical, mystical books and book series.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read more in Disclaimer

Here is a list of books you should read if you liked Harry Potter. It includes other very magical books and book series that any child or adult is sure to love!

You have come to the final pages of The Death Hallows… the final pages of, arguably, the best fictional world ever to exist. I feel your pain!

It’s a seriously sad day when you reach the end of the Harry, Hermione, and Ron’s universe. But hey, before you decide to pick up The Sorcerer’s Stone again and commit to another read through of the series, I’ve got a few to show you that may help alleviate some of the pain and sadness! Of course, I am being a bit dramatic.. or am I? 

20 Magical Books You Should Read if you Liked Harry Potter

This post is going to introduce some amazing fantasy stories similar to Harry Potter, so keep on reading. These book recommendations come from all over the internet where people have asked the very question that your are wanting answers to, “What are some books you should read if you liked Harry Potter?” If a Potterhead can confidently state other titles they think Harry Potter fans would love, then that must be saying something! There is a unwritten standard at stake here, people! These books have got to be good!

Growing Up with the Magic of Harry Potter

In 1999, my British grandmother sent my brothers and I a package in the mail. It contained the first 3 Harry Potter books and a letter that stated these books were what every child was reading in England and that she hoped we would like them.

Grandma never sent gifts if it wasn’t our birthday or Christmas time.

We had never heard of Harry Potter, the boy who lived.

I held the first book in my hand like it was a magical glowing orb. I was so entranced by it… it’s hardcover, the raised gold lightning bolt print, the artwork with the boy on his broomstick, the hand resting on the armchair on the inside of the dust cover. 

Needless to say, I devoured the first 3 books. Then I devoured them over again. I think I read the Sorcerer’s Stone 5 or 6 times. Psst, it’s still my favorite.

In 2001, the first movie hit the big screen and kids, let me tell you… the energy of the entire movie theatre was unlike anything, I believe, I’ll ever feel again.

The movie was just like the book and we were all EXTREMELY emotional about it, kids and parents alike. After the movie, parents were talking with strangers, kids were talking with kids they’d never seen before, all expressing the same sentiment… “That was epic.” We felt like we were part of history in the making… which in a way, we were. 

Table of Contents

Harry Potter Release Dates Were Long Anticipated

Living in anticipation for the next Harry Potter book to release along with the next movie to follow made life feel so magical! I can’t think of another time in history where people in mass, around the world (!!), have collectively anticipated the release of a book, such as Harry Potter, or anything for that matter.

I mean, the Beanie Babies era was massive too and Apple product release dates have been quite electrifying as well but Harry Potter takes the cake.  As we all know now, J.K. Rowling showed up EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. Each book was just as amazing as the last and the movies got better and better! 

What Books Should Kids Read if They Liked Harry Potter?

Harry Potter Midnight Release Party, two girls dressed up in Gryffindor attire holding The Deathly Hollows
Photo Credit: The Austin Chronicle

Kids who like Harry Potter are most likely looking for books with high fantasy. They want something that contains a deeply immersive, magical world, with out of this world fantasy elements such as mystical creatures, wonder, and dark forces. The list you see here below has been curated with today’s young people in mind. You will find many of these books also contain relatable, real-life experiences that appeal to middle school readers. Along with our list, here are some classic high level fantasy book series your kids may fall in love with.

If you like this *What to Read After Harry Potter* book list, be sure to check out other lists such as these ones:

>> The Winners and Nominees of the California Young Readers’ Medal 2013-2021

>> 20 Books for Tween Who Love Cozy Mysteries

>> 13 Must Read Scary Books for Kids: Middle Schoolers Beware!

CLASSIC and the most recommended by Harry Potter lovers!
Rick Riordan

Let’s face it. This is the #1 series that most people will suggest to anyone looking for another series after they have finished Harry Potter… and in good reason! It’s a classic children’s fantasy series at this point filled with mythical magical things!

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse–Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him.

When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, god of the sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends–one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena–Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Soman Chainani

This book series is also highly recommended by those who love fantasy. To read more about Soman Chainani’s newest book, Beasts and Beauty: Dangerous Tales, click here.

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

B.B. Alston

“This book is absolutely amazing. Alston does a great job tying the challenges of living in a black neighborhood with Amari trying to find her place in the supernatural world that she didn’t know she was so deeply connected with. Beautifully done for a middle school audience!”

#blackgirlmagic!

Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good.

So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she’s certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton—if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real.

Now she must compete for a spot against kids who’ve known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can’t seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny—especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed “illegal.” With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she’s an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn’t stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton.

Love this book as much as we do? Be sure to check out our list of 2021’s Best Middle Grade Books where you will find Amari along with some other PRETTY AMAZING BOOKS released in 2021!

Angie Sage

This is the first book in the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage. 

Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby’s father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps’ beloved son Septimus?

Shannon Messenger

I’ll never forget… one of my 10-year-old students, who once loved loved loved Harry Potter, began the Keeper of the Lost Cities series after she finished Harry Potter AND… she says it is WAY better than Harry Potter! *GASP*

I’ll take her word for it when she says this book series is absolutely amazing and that all kids her age should read it!

In this riveting series opener, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.

But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Jessica Townsend

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks–and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.

It’s then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each with an extraordinary talent that sets them apart–an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests–or she’ll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.

Michael Scott

This is a must read for anyone really wishing to keep the world of Harry Potter alive and well. Nicholas Flamel was a real person. 

There was a documentary I watched once about J.K. Rowling. It highlights the extensive historical and character development research Rowling did in order to bring her wizarding world alive. It was quite incredible and I’ll link it here when I find it. ._.

Nicholas Flamel appeared in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter—but did you know he really lived? And his secrets aren’t safe! Discover the truth in book one of the New York Times bestselling series the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel’s tomb is empty.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives.

Nicholas Flamel is the greatest Alchemyst to ever live. The records show that he died in 1418, but what if he’s actually been making the elixir of life for centuries?
The secrets to eternal life are hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed, and in the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it.
There is one hope. If the prophecy is true, Sophie and Josh Newman have the power to save everyone. Now they just have to learn to use it.

Brandon Mull

Brandon Mull is a prolific author of fantasy book series for kids. This post will highlight a few of them for you however, you can’t go wrong with any Brandon Mull series! Spirit Animals is fantastic for those who love the idea of having a spirit animal and defeating the depths of evil despair alongside them. 

In the world of Erdas, four children are about to discover if they have a spirit animal bond, a rare link between human and beast that gives great powers to both. Separated by vast distances, Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan each see a flash of light . . . and then the animals emerge. Wolf, leopard, panda, falcon. Each of the children has summoned a beast from legend. Now their fate is set. The four heroes and their animals must band together on a dangerous quest. A dark force from the past is rising, and only they have the power to stop it. The fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of these brave strangers . . . and on you. Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game — discover your spirit animal and join the adventure.

Other Amazing Series by Brandon Mull

Roshani Chokshi

This is one of many book series that are published with the Rick Riordan imprint, “Rick Riordan Presents.” 

Named one of 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time by Time magazine!

Twelve-year-old Aru Shah has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she’ll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?

One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru’s doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don’t believe her claim that the museum’s Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.

But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it’s up to Aru to save them.

The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

J.R.R. Tolkien

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.

In a hole in the ground, there lived a hobbit. So begins one of the most beloved and delightful tales in the English language. Set in the imaginary world of Middle-earth, at once a classic myth and a modern fairy tale, The Hobbit is one of literature’s most enduring and well-loved novels

Susan Cooper

A book series set in the time and world of King Arthur. It’s like a mix of Harry Potter, Narnia, and an older version of The Magic Treehouse series.

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that — the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.

Josh Roberts

This next book is a standalone fantasy book that lights up even the most devoted Harry Potter fans. The Witches of Willow Cove has similar themes such as friendship and age-old mysterious events but set in modern day United States.

It’s not easy being a teenage witch. Seventh grader Abby Shepherd is just getting the hang of it when weird stuff starts happening all around her hometown of Willow Cove. Green slime bubbling to life in science class. Giant snakes slithering around the middle school gym. Her best friend suddenly keeping secrets and telling lies.

Things only begin to make sense when a stranger named Miss Winters reveals that Abby isn’t the only young witch in town—and that Willow Cove is home to a secret past that connects them all. Miss Winters, herself a witch, even offers to teach Abby and the others everything she knows about witchcraft.

But as Abby learns more about Miss Winters’ past, she begins to suspect her new mentor is keeping secrets of her own. Can Abby trust her, or does Miss Winters have something wicked planned for the young witches of Willow Cove?

Tamzin Merchant

Another standalone fantasy adventure about bravery and following your heart. This book comes highly recommended by another Harry Potter fan who loves Keepers of the Lost Cities and the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull.

In Cordelia’s London, magic is real and is woven into objects created by the five Maker families: the Hatmakers, the Bootmakers, the Watchmakers, the Cloakmakers, and the Glovemakers. Growing up in her father Prospero’s footsteps, eleven-year-old Cordelia Hatmaker has learned the family’s ancient skills and secrets so she can one day make her own enchanted hats.

When Prospero and his ship are lost at sea during an important ingredient expedition, her grief-stricken aunt and uncle must turn their attention toward fulfilling a decree to create a Peace Hat for the king. But Cordelia refuses to accept that her father is gone for good and desperately begins making plans to find him. Then, the Peace Hat is stolen―along with the Peace Boots, Watch, Cloak, and Gloves―and Cordelia realizes that there is a more menacing plot against the Makers’ Guild, and that Prospero Hatmaker’s disappearance may be connected. Cordelia must uncover the truth about who is behind the thefts if she is to save the Makers and find out what really happened to her father.

Eva Ibbotson

I wonder if J.K. Rowling took any inspiration from this book… Sounds just as magical as the wonderful world of Hogwarts castle.

A forgotten door on an abandoned railway platform is the entrance to a magical kingdom–an island where humans live happily with mermaids, ogres, and other wonderful creatures. Carefully hidden from the world, the Island is only accessible when the door opens for nine days every nine years. When the beastly Mrs. Trottle kidnaps the Island’s young prince, it’s up to a strange band of rescuers to save him. But can the rescuers–an ogre, a hag, a wizard, and a fey–sneak around London unnoticed?

Jennifer A. Neilsen

The False Prince is book 1 of a 5 part series. Jennifer A. Nielsen is a queen in the middle grade book universe, for sure!

In a discontented kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point — he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well. As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

Mindy Thompson

It’s 1944 Sutton, NY, and Poppy’s family owns and runs, Rhyme and Reason, a magical bookshop that caters to people from all different places and time periods. Though her world is ravaged by World War II, customers hail from the past and the future, infusing the shop with a delightful mix of ideas and experiences.
 
Poppy dreams of someday becoming shopkeeper like her father, though her older brother, Al, is technically next in line for the job. She knows all of the rules handed down from one generation of Bookseller to the next, especially their most important one: shopkeepers must never use the magic for themselves.
 
But then Al’s best friend is killed in the war and her brother wants to use the magic of the shop to save him. With her father in the hospital suffering from a mysterious illness, the only one standing between Al and the bookstore is Poppy. Caught between her love for her brother and loyalty to her family, she knows her brother’s actions could have devastating consequences that reach far beyond the bookshop as an insidious, growing Darkness looms. This decision is bigger than Poppy ever dreamed, and the fate of the bookshops hangs in the balance.

T. Kingfisher

Fourteen-year-old Mona isn’t like the wizards charged with defending the city. She can’t control lightning or speak to water. Her familiar is a sourdough starter and her magic only works on bread. She has a comfortable life in her aunt’s bakery making gingerbread men dance.

But Mona’s life is turned upside down when she finds a dead body on the bakery floor. An assassin is stalking the streets of Mona’s city, preying on magic folk, and it appears that Mona is his next target. And in an embattled city suddenly bereft of wizards, the assassin may be the least of Mona’s worries…

Phillippa Pearce

When Tom’s brother gets sick, he’s shipped off to spend what he’s sure will be a boring summer with his aunt and uncle in the country. But then Tom hears the old grandfather clock in the hall chime thirteen times, and he’s transported back to an old garden where he meets a young, lonely girl named Hatty.

This book is a classic. Written over 60 years ago, Tom’s Midnight Garden has stood the test of time in this book of mystery and time travel.

Tom returns to the garden every night to have adventures with Hatty, who mysteriously grows a little older with each visit. As the summer comes to an end, Tom realizes he wants to stay in the garden with Hatty forever.

Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson

If you loved the Harry Potter audiobooks read by Jim Dale, you’re gonna want to pick up this audiobook. Jim Dale delivers another spectacular performance and the story is just as magical.

In an evocative and fast-paced adventure on the high seas and on a faraway island, an orphan boy named Peter and his mysterious new friend, Molly, overcome bands of pirates and thieves in their quest to keep a fantastical secret safe and save the world from evil.

This riveting adventure takes listeners on a journey from a harsh orphanage in old England to a treacherous sea in a decrepit old tub. Aboard the Never Land is a trunk that holds a magical substance with the power to change the fate of the world – just a sprinkle and wounds heal; just a dusting and people can fly. Towering seas and a violent storm are the backdrop for battles at sea. Bone-crushing waves eventually land our characters on Mollusk Island – where the action really heats up.

Kwame Mbalia

Seventh grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he failed to save his best friend when they were in a bus accident together. All he has left of Eddie is the journal his friend wrote stories in. Tristan is dreading the month he’s going to spend on his grandparents’ farm in Alabama, where he’s being sent to heal from the tragedy.

But on his first night there, a sticky creature shows up in his bedroom and steals Eddie’s notebook. Tristan chases after it–is that a doll?–and a tug-of-war ensues between them underneath a Bottle Tree. In a last attempt to wrestle the journal out of the creature’s hands, Tristan punches the tree, accidentally ripping open a chasm into the MidPass, a volatile place with a burning sea, haunted bone ships, and iron monsters that are hunting the inhabitants of this world.

Tristan finds himself in the middle of a battle that has left black American folk heroes John Henry and Brer Rabbit exhausted. In order to get back home, Tristan and these new allies will need to entice the god Anansi, the Weaver, to come out of hiding and seal the hole in the sky. But bartering with the trickster Anansi always comes at a price.

20 Books Like Harry Potter that Kids Should Read

Not gonna lie, it was a little challenging finding a list of books to meet the standards of our beloved Harry Potter fans however, I don’t think this will be the last. Some books simply did not make this list because it got too long. Part 2 to come! What would you like to see on this list?

We hope you found something that captured your imagination! With so many options, it should be easy to find the book series and standalones for kids that are like Harry Potter. If not, don’t worry! There are plenty of other great stories out there waiting to be discovered. What books would you recommend? Let us know in the comments below or on one of our social media pages.